Image

Wow, it’s been a while! I made this blog in the mid-trimester break when I had a ton of free time, and then I came back to reality. But, I made cookies on Sunday and they were so good that I figured I ought to post about them, in case the cookie-loving masses had started reading this blog. Are you out there? Anyone?

Chocolate Chip Biscuits, Tallulah Style
(Slightly adapted from “Chocolate Chip Biscuits” in All Things Nice – Jo Seagar)

I doubled the recipe, as I normally do, so here is the doubled quantity. It seems ridiculous to make half, because let me tell you that these biscuits were gone within 24 hours (although I do live in a 12 person house…)

Ingredients

  • 150g butter, melted
  • 1 cup brown sugar
  • 1 cup white sugar
  • 2 eggs
  • 2 cups plain flour
  • 1 tsp baking soda
  • 1 generous cup of chocolate chips (I always just cut up a block of chocolate so that instead of little chips, the chocolate is big chunks)
  • 1 cup of either ground or chopped almonds (In this batch, I split the mixture into three bowls and added chopped almonds to one, ground to the second and none to the third) – You can use any chopped/ground nuts that you choose, I just chose almonds this time.

Prehead the oven to 180 degrees celcius. Beat together the melted butter, sugars and eggs. Sift the flour and baking soda and add with chocolate and almonds. Stir until well combined. Roll teaspoonfuls of dough into balls, place on a greased oven tray (you can also spray or line with baking paper) and press slightly with the palm of your hand – I tend to use a little less than a full teaspoon of dough per biscuit, as I prefer to have more small biscuits than less big biscuits. Leave a little room for biscuits to spread. Bake for 8-10 minutes (mine only tend to need 8, as you want them chewy) or until golden brown. Leave on the tray for 3 minutes to cool and harden before transfering to a wire cooling rack. Store in an airtight container when cool – although if yours is anything like my family, they won’t last long!

Makes approximately 60 smallish biscuits.

Image

